K-Drama #4: Reply 1997

Drama Title: Reply 1997
Genre: Romance, Comedy, Adolescence, Drama
Episodes: 16 episodes
Broadcast Period: July 24, 2012 – September 18, 2012

Synopsis: Set in the 1990’s, the drama centers around a female high school student Shi Won (Jung Eun Ji), who idolizes boyband H.O.T and her 5 high school friends in Busan. As the timeline moves back and forth between their past as 18-year-old high schoolers in 1997 and their present as 33-year-olds at their high school reunion dinner in 2012, where one couple will announce that they’re getting married.

Insights: Definitely one of my favorite korean drama! Though the first episodes were quite confusing because sometimes the scenes would suddenly be trimmed since it has an unusual transitions from past to present. But unlike other k-drama, the characters in this drama were so reaaaal. I can totally relate to them and it feels like I really know them in real life. The fangirling part is also a plus! I can really see myself there. I also love the leading man, he is really someone to treasure! I want to meet someone like him, he even knows how to handle various relationship to make it last. Eventually, this drama lead me to a lot of realizations that are applicable in real life. As a result, hundreds of screenshots of their lines were saved in my phone. Another proof that this is really daebak, this drama was followed by another season namely, Reply 1994 and Reply 1988! It even had an american remake version called Reply 1999. Amazing, isn’t it?

Photo credits: https://tvnasia.net/en/tvn-asia.html

Leave a comment